Skip To Main Content

Graduates and Honorees

There are no resources or collections to display

Graduates and Honorees 2021

The Catholic Biblical School (CBS) forms and empowers adult disciples in the Archdiocese of Hartford by promoting a lived and deeply-felt relationship with our Lord Jesus Christ and his Church through intensive biblical study and prayer. This year, the following individuals are honored for significant achievements in the Catholic Biblical School.



Archdiocesan Certificate: Four-Year Achievements

Students who have completed four years in the Biblical School earn either the Certificate in Advanced Biblical Studies or the Participant Certificate. This year, 14 women and men have thoughtfully and prayerfully engaged all 73 books of the Old and New Testaments in the context of the Catholic tradition:
Thomas Cook, Christ the King, Wethersfield/Hartford
Michael V. DiMassa, Saint Raphael, Milford
Donna Sylvester DiMassa, Saint Raphael, Milford
Lanette Errante, Our Lady of Victory, West Haven
Jacqueline Mary Farrell, Saint Francis Xavier, New Milford
Carmen L. Fletcher, Precious Blood, Milford
Paul Fletcher, Precious Blood, Milford
Eric C. Johnson, Saint Teresa of Calcutta, Manchester
Kathleen M. Krawetzky, Christ the King, Wethersfield/Hartford
Dawn M. Madden, Saint Maximilian Kolbe, Thomaston/Terryville
Geraldine McGuirk, Thomas the Apostle, Oxford
Paula Ann Mitchell, Ss Cyril and Methodius Oratory, Bridgeport
Barbara A. Paradis, Saint Michael, Beacon Falls
Susan Brennan Parnoff, Saint James, Stratford
Sr. Justine Reina Praxedes, ASCJ, Mount Sacred Heart, Hamden
Jacqueline R. Proto, Saint Jeanne Jugan, Enfield
Teresa L. Rynkiewicz, Saint Francis Xavier, New Milford
Debra M. Seaman, Assumption Parish, Millbury, MA
Katherine Frances Sopchak, Saint Raphael, Milford
Jayson Christoffer Tautic, Saint Matthew, Forestville
Laurie J. Thompson Olsen, Saint Thomas the Apostle, Oxford
John L. Tibor, Jr., North Haven Congregational Church

Saint Thomas Seminary Certificate in Biblical Studies

Students who have undertaken additional academic challenges beyond the Advanced Certificate requirements earn 18 college credits and the Saint Thomas Seminary Certificate in Biblical Studies. This year, three men and women have achieved this distinction.

Carlos L. Alvarez, Not Affiliated
Crista Nalani Penrose, Holy Family Church, Hebron
Janette Rodriguez, Todos Los Santos, Waterbury

Certificate in Basic Biblical Studies

Students who have completed all requirements for the first two years in the Biblical School earn the Certificate in Basic Biblical Studies. This year, 21 women and men have thoughtfully and prayerfully engaged 11 foundational books of the Old Testament in Year One and 19 books of the New Testament in Year Two.

Sr. Kathryn Marie Augustyniak, Felician Sisters
Joan Bonie, Saint Pio of Pietrelcina, East Haven
Michael Clements, Saint Juniperro Serra, South Windsor
Carmela Cuomo, Divine Mercy, Hamden
Sheila Denion, Saint Patrick-Saint Anthony, Hartford
Margaret Hudak, Holy Name of Jesus, Stratford
Clara Johnson, Mount Sacred Heart, Hamden
Patrick Kearney, Our Lady of Mount Carmel, Hamden
Melissa Lanczycki, Our Lady of Hope, New Hartford
Diane Lipari, Saint Mary, Star of the Sea, Unionville
Lonny Madeux, Saint Bridget of Sweden, Cheshire
Dalitso David Mwanza, Saint John Paul the Great, Torrington
Jill O'Brien, Divine Providence, New Britain
Antoinette Oliveira, Divine Mercy, Hamden
Andrea Puzio, Saint Elizabeth of the Trinity, North Haven
Andrew Quirk, Saint Dominic, Southington
Elwyn Quirk, Saint Dominic, Southington
Ashley Marie Strobel, Mount Sacred Heart, Hamden
Peter Thompson, Saint John, Watertown
Robert Welton, Saint Mary, Simsbury
Patricia Young, Mount Sacred Heart, Hamden

Boadt Medal Recipients 2010-2021

The Fr. Lawrence Boadt Memorial Medal honors an individual whose life and ministry demonstrates the excellence in the study of Sacred Scripture and the generosity of spirit in teaching the Word of God that Paulist Fr. Larry Boadt was so well known for.

Fr. Boadt was a mentor and a friend to the Hartford Catholic Biblical School. He worked closely with our students every year, even during his long fight with cancer. He led our first-year Lenten Scripture Formation Day only a month after his final surgery, and less than four months before his death in 2010.

His writings, especially his landmark Reading the Old Testament, showed the highest Old Testament scholarship while at the same time making the complexities of the biblical texts accessible to the minds and hearts of ordinary folks. Biblical Schools across the country continue to use this text in all Old Testament courses.

The Archdiocese of Hartford’s respect for Fr. Boadt and his work is commemorated in the annual presentation of the Fr. Lawrence Boadt Memorial Medal. All who receive this medal are asked to wear it at Biblical School gatherings, not as a way of taking pride in accomplishments but as a way of giving glory to the One whose Living Word saves us and encouraging others to encounter Christ Jesus in the Holy Scriptures.

Ms. Alexis Chacchia, 2021
Ms. Cee Cee Johnson, 2018
Ms. Linda Mickiewicz, 2017
Mr. Charles Wills, 2016
Sr. Doretta D'Albero, ASCJ, 2015
Ms. Kathi L. Bonner, 2014
Ms. Nancy S. Stimac, 2013
Deacon William J. Gilles, 2013
Ms. Barbara Gawle, 2012
Ms. Angela Pietrowski, 2010